A childhood admiration

Growing up we all have that one person that we look up to and aspire to be like. For me, that has been my brother Adam since day one. As a little girl he never failed to put a smile on my face and he always made sure to show me the right way to do things. However, it is not only about how he’s treated me as a sibling that makes me admire him so much but it is also his personal life journey that is so incredible to me.

Adam is twenty-five years old and currently in law school at the University of Denver. He started his journey at the University of Boulder at Colorado where he attended school not knowing one other person. I never knew how he did that considering I am such a homebody. After a week he completely fell in love with school and met so many new people. He loved not knowing anyone because it gave him the chance to meet all new people and learn how to adjust to an independent lifestyle. As he reached his Junior year of college he was given the opportunity to spend a semester abroad. He was deciding between Barcelona and New Zealand but again Adam took the route less traveled by his friends and went to New Zealand. There yet again he knew no one and learned to live life on his own. He traveled to places such as Australia, Fiji and Thailand where he lived with all new people in different hostels. As his semester abroad came to an end and he finished off his senior year at Boulder he had to start figuring out what he wanted to do with his life. Adam decided that going to law school was the right choice for him as it was always his dream to be a lawyer. However, law school didn’t begin for an entire year after graduation so he had to figure out an alternative plan for the time being. Independent Adam decided yet again to step outside his comfort zone and travel by him. He purchased a one-way ticket to Thailand with merely a backpack. He had no agenda as he planned to figure it out as he pleased. He ended up working as a bartender and living at a hotel on the beach where he lived off the small amount of money he was making each day. This was absolutely amazing to me and something I could never fathom doing myself.

As I look at back on his experiences and reflect on my own I see that a huge reason that I have become so independent and I have embarked on so many unique journeys is all because of adam. He showed me the importance of independence and the importance of taking the road less traveled as it ultimately helps you grow as a person and value the experiences you have. Without Adam I would have never went to The University of Arizona not knowing anyone and I would’ve never pushed myself to study abroad. He is not only an incredible brother but also an incredible role model for all.

3642_3747012427599_1671453990_n

Leave a comment